Burn Laws

Burn Permit


Burning debris piles larger than 8 feet long, 8 feet wide, and 4 feet deep requires a county burn permit.

More Information


For information on a Powhatan County Burn Permit (PDF), contact the Fire Marshal's Office at 804-598-5646.

Virginia State Burn Laws


Virginia has a 4 p.m. Burn Law, which is a ban/restriction on open air burning before 4 in the afternoon if your fire is within 300 feet of the woods or dry grass which can carry the fire to the woods. You are allowed to burn between 4 p.m and midnight as long as you take proper care and precaution and attend your fire at all times. This law is in effect yearly from February 15th and runs through April 30th. This law can be enacted by both local and state authorities should the conditions call for it at any time during the year.  

Frequently Asked Questions


For more information and the answers to common questions regarding the 4 p.m. Law, visit our Frequently Asked Questions section.