Most businesses located within Powhatan County are subject to a Powhatan County business license tax. All Powhatan County business licenses require an annual flat fee of $50. Powhatan County does NOT tax businesses based on gross receipts.
New businesses must obtain all required licenses prior to grossing $3,000 during a calendar year. (Direct-Selling businesses must obtain required licenses prior to grossing $4,000. Out-of-county contractors must obtain required licenses prior to grossing $25,000).
For existing businesses, renewal applications must be filed in the Commissioner of Revenue's Office or postmarked on or before March 1 of each year to avoid a $10 late payment penalty.
**Please note, for existing businesses, if the physical address of the business changes, a new application must be submitted to the Office of the Commissioner of Revenue. There is no fee for address changes.
To apply for your license, please perform the following steps in the order in which they are presented.
1. Powhatan County requires that all county residents applying for a business license ensure that the location for the business be properly zoned for its intended use by such business. Call or visit the Community Development Department (804-598-5621) to find out if your business location is properly zoned for your business activities, especially if you intend to conduct business from your home. Office hours are Monday-Friday, 8:30 a.m.- 5 p.m. *Please note that non-residents do not have to obtain zoning approval from the Community Development Department.
2. Visit the Office of the Clerk of the Circuit Court in the Courthouse (804-598-5660) in person only if you will be operating a business under an assumed or fictitious trade name. A trade name that includes the sole proprietors’ first name initial and full last name does not need to be recorded. A trade name using only an individual’s initials, or any other fictitious name which differs from the actual sole proprietor, partnership, LLC, or corporate name must be recorded with the Clerk’s Office. Virginia Code §59.1-74 requires that proof of recordation must be submitted to the Office of the Commissioner of the Revenue before a business license may be issued. A fee must accompany the form at the time of recordation.
CONTRACTORS ONLY: Register with the State Board for Contractors, located at 9960 Mayland Drive, Richmond (804-367-8511, www.dpor.virginia.gov), if you accept individual contracts of $1,000 or more. Virginia Code 54.1-1111(B) requires that contractors must provide their State Board of Contractors registration number before a license may be issued.
CONTRACTORS ONLY: Complete a “Certificate of Workers' Compensation Insurance" (Form 61A) online. Virginia Code §58.1-3714B(1) prohibits a county from issuing or reissuing a business license to a contractor who has not obtained or is not maintaining worker’s compensation coverage for his employees, if such coverage is required. Questions regarding workers’ compensation coverage requirements should be directed to the Workers’ Compensation Commissioner at 1000 DMV Drive, Richmond (804-367-2071).
Complete the Powhatan County Business License Application and bring the documents listed below to the Office of the Commissioner of the Revenue. Please be sure to bring all applicable items with you when applying.
◦Zoning approval from the Community Development Department (county residents only)
◦Certificate of Assumed Name form filed with the Clerk's Office (if applicable)
◦Statement of Partners form filed with the Clerk's Office (if applicable)
◦Payment (make checks payable to Treasurer, Powhatan County)
◦State Contractor's License or Affidavit of Contractor
**Effective January 2017, ALL contractors MUST complete Workers' Compensation Form 61A online even if you have less than three employees and/or do not carry Workers' Compensation Insurance. Once completed, the acknowledgement letter must be presented to the Commissioner of Revenue's Office for verification. This process must be done prior to receiving a county business license.
For assistance with the business license application or the licensing process, please contact Andrea Ross in the Commissioner of Revenue's Office at 804-598-5616 or firstname.lastname@example.org, or visit the office during normal business hours (Monday-Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.).
Mailing and Delivery Address
Mail to: Commissoner of Revenue, 3834 Old Buckingham Road, Suite C, Powhatan, VA 23139